Sligo’s Summerhill College Track and Field team’s 27 medal haul in Athlone

Summerhill College dominate the Connacht Track and fields

Summerhill College's Inter relay teams; Team A winning gold Finn Campbell, Piotr Maciorowski, Ben Sherlock and Josh Cadman, Team B finishing 5th consisting of James McGuinness, Callum Lynch, Richard Mahon and Cathal Gilligan.

Sligo Champion

Sligo’s Summerhill College track and field team won 27 medals at the Connacht Track and Field finals in Athlone last Friday the19th of May winning 8 Gold, 12 Silver and 7 Bronze were won across both individual and team events.

Minor Results:

The minor relay team consisting of Ethan Hunter, Ruairí McLoughlin, Felipe Oliveria and Daniel Murray won gold. Individually Ross Campbell won silver in the 800m. Ruairí McLoughlin won silver in the 75m hurdles and came 6th in the shot putt. Fionn Devins also came 6th in the minor long jump.

Junior Results:

The Junior relay A team consisting of Michael Harte, Adam Kenny, Brian Cullinan and Sam Lenehan won gold with the second Junior team consisting of Brian McGuaran, Vance Bienes, Jay Kiernan and Adrian Targosinski coming in third just inches behind Sligo Grammar School.

Individually Brian Cullinan won gold in the 80m hurdles and silver in the long jump with a jump of 5m19. Fionn Mcmorrow won silver in the high jump with a height of 1.45m. Michael Harte won silver in the triple jump in a distance of 9.83m. Daniel Allen won silver in the shot putt. Gearoid Tuohy won gold in the 1500m followed in 5th by Charlie McNamara. Adam Kenny won silver in the 200m. Tadhg Henry came 5th and Oscar Marron 7th in the junior 800m.

Inter Results:

Summerhill’s Inter relay team of Finn Campbell, Piotr Marciorowski, Ben Sherlock and Josh Cadman won gold, with the second inter relay team of James McGuinness, Callum Lynch, Richard Mahon and Cathal Giligan finishing 5th.

Individually Piotr Marciorowski won bronze in the inter 100m and finished 6th in the long jump. Francis Donoghue continued his excellent form winning gold in the 3000m and silver in the 1500m. Ben Sherlock finished 5th in the 200m with a time of 24.17. Finn Campbell won gold in the 400m with Cathal Gilligan finishing in 6th. Finn Campbell also impressed in the 400m hurdles winning silver. Conor Murray won the 1500m steeplechase and came 8th in the 800m. Brian McCabe won bronze in the high jump with a height of 1.60m, his brother Tom McCabe came 4th in the long jump and won bronze in the triple jump. Sam Garvey finished 4th and 5th in the shot putt.

Senior Results:

Summerhill’s Senior Relay team consisting of Sean McCabe, Christ Joy Mbah, Joe Campbell and Darragh Burke won Silver in the 4x100m relay. Individually Darragh Burke won bronze in the 100m in a time of 11.42. Sean McCabe won silver in the 200m with Darragh Burke finishing in 4th. Joe Campbell had another successful day winning bronze in the 400m and Triple jump events.

The school would like to say a big thank you to athletics coach Dermot McDermott for all the work he has done with the lads.

All athletes will now compete in the All Ireland Finals in Tullamore on the 3rd June.

Wishing all athletes the very best of luck.

Top Stories from Sligo

Latest News from Sligo

Top Stories